The Democratic Alliance (DA) Mayoral Candidate , Cllr Mpho Phalatse was elected as the new Executive Mayor at the City of Johannesburg Metropolitan Municipality inaugural Council Meeting held at the Brixton Multipurpose Centre on Monday, 22nd of November 2021.

Phalatse is a former Health MMC in CoJ. She received 144 votes against the African National Congress (ANC) Mayoral Candidate, Mpho Moerane who received 121 votes.

Phalatse says she is honoured to be the first woman to be mayor of Johannesburg. She is medical doctor originally from Alexandra.

The former Johannesburg Mayor and ActionSA President, Herman Mashaba unexpectedly withdrew his nomination for mayorship.

Earlier in the day, the DA’s Vasco Da Gama was elected as the new CoJ Speaker. Da Gama was the Speaker of Council during Mashaba’s tenure.

In nearby Ekhurhuleni. The DA’s Cllr Tania Campbell has been elected new Executive Mayor of the municipality ousting the ANC’s Mzwandile Masina.

City of Tshwane is expected to elect new Mayor and Speaker on Tuesday, 23rd November.

Newly elected Mayor, Mpho Phalatse
Newly elected Speaker, Vasco Da Gama.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *